Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content

Sección de idiomas

Englishen

Fin de la sección de idiomas

You are in:

  1. Home
  2. Communication
  3. News

News

Start of main content

Social commitment

Bankia has opened an account to raise funds to alleviate the damage caused by the fire in Gran Canaria and contributes 100,000 euros

The bank confirms its social commitment to the Islas Canarias by opening an account in which funds will be raised to help mitigate the damage caused by the fire that began on Saturday, August 17 in Valleseco.

Communication Bankia

By  Communication Bankia

Publish on 
20 August 2019 - 18:00

  • The contributions will be made available to the Islas Canarias authorities to deal with the damage caused by fire on the island.
  • Bankia has offered its cooperation to the regional government and the Cabildo (city council) of Gran Canaria.
  • "Bankia’s staff is appalled at the effects of the fire and we want to provide our support to the people working on its extinction and show our concern to everyone affected", said Bankia's chairman, José Ignacio Goirigolzarri.

Bankia has opened an account to raise funds to alleviate the damage caused by the fire in Gran Canaria and has made an initial contribution of 100,000 euros.

The account number (ES71 2038 7192 8160 0133 0856) is available now for anyone who would like to make a contribution. The money collected will be allocated, once the damage has been assessed, to covering the main needs detected by the institutions.

The chairman of Bankia, José Ignacio Goirigolzarri, offered the bank's cooperation to the regional government and the Cabildo (city council) of Gran Canaria: "We are at the disposal of the Canary Islands’ authorities to help as best we can". "Gran Canaria is one of the areas that made Bankia what it is today", he underlined.

“Bankia’s staff is appalled at the effects of the fire and we want to provide our support to the people working on its extinction and show our concern to everyone affected by the fire. We sincerely hope that the fire is extinguished once and for all”, said Goirigolzarri.

In this way, Bankia demonstrates its commitment to the Islas Canarias. The entity coordinates a large part of its social and environmental action with Fundación La Caja de Canarias.

Share

Print and/or download the new

Read more about these topics

#Social commitment

Related news

Loading...
Loading next new

Newsletter

Subscription to the bulletin of Bankia News

CONTACT

External Communication Direction

Virginia Zafra de Llera
DIRECTOR OF EXTERNAL COMMUNICATION
vzafra@bankia.com

 

Press Relationship

Guillermo Fernández Martín
DIRECTOR OF PRESS RELATIONSHIP
gfernandezm@bankia.com

Mariano Utrilla Cortijo
mutrilla@bankia.com

Irene Rivas García
irivas@bankia.com

Belén Porras Povedano
bporras@bankia.com

María Campos Lages
mcamposla@bankia.com

María José Cabeza Calderón
jcabeza@bankia.com

 

Digital Communication

Ana Bernad Colás
DIRECTOR OF DIGITAL COMMUNICATION
abernad@bankia.com

Leticia Lucio Álvarez
llucio@bankia.com

María Navarro Caballero
mnavarro@bankia.com

   

End of main content