Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content

Sección de idiomas

Englishen

Fin de la sección de idiomas

You are in:

  1. Home
  2. Communication
  3. News

News

Start of main content

Corporate information

Bankia Pays 2018 Dividend and Repays a Further €219 Million to Spanish State

This is the fifth dividend paid in Bankia's history and the Bank continues repaying the aid received and has now returned 3,083 million euros.

Communication Bankia

By  Communication Bankia

Publish on 
11 April 2019 - 09:15

  • The Annual General Shareholders' Meeting of this past 22 March approved a dividend distribution of 357 million euros, 5% higher
  • The Bank continues repaying the aid received and has now returned 3,083 million euros

Bankia is paying out an ordinary dividend against 2018 earnings of 11.576 euro cents per share in a single cash payment. This marks a further advance in the Bank's repayment of the State aid received, as the Spanish national government will receive €219 million of this dividend.

This past 22 March, the Annual General Meeting of the Bank's shareholders approved a dividend distribution of 357 million euros, 5% more than the previous year's pay-out.

This is the fifth dividend paid in Bankia's history. Since July 2015, when the Bank made its first pay-out to shareholders, the cumulative dividends distributed total 1,517 million euros.

At present, the FROB holds, directly and indirectly through BFA Tenedora de Acciones SAU, an equity stake of 61.4% in Bankia.

Based on that shareholding, the Bank is now returning a further 219 million euros to taxpayers with the 2018 dividend, bringing the total repaid to 3,083 million euros.

Of those 3,083 million euros, a total of 2,122 million euros were generated by the privatisation transactions carried out in February 2014 and December 2017, and the remaining 961 million euros are in respect of dividends paid to the FROB (128 million against 2014 earnings; 195 for 2015; 211 for 2016; 208 for 2017 and 219 million for 2018).

The Bankia Strategic Plan 2018-2020 envisages distributing more than 2,500 million euros to shareholders in ordinary dividends and refunding its capital in excess of the 12% CET1 fully loaded threshold.

Share

Print and/or download the new

Read more about these topics

#Dividend

Related news

Loading...
Loading next new

Newsletter

Subscription to the bulletin of Bankia News

CONTACT

External Communication Direction

Virginia Zafra de Llera
DIRECTOR OF EXTERNAL COMMUNICATION
vzafra@bankia.com

 

Press Relationship

Guillermo Fernández Martín
DIRECTOR OF PRESS RELATIONSHIP
gfernandezm@bankia.com

Mariano Utrilla Cortijo
mutrilla@bankia.com

Irene Rivas García
irivas@bankia.com

Belén Porras Povedano
bporras@bankia.com

María Campos Lages
mcamposla@bankia.com

María José Cabeza Calderón
jcabeza@bankia.com

 

Digital Communication

Ana Bernad Colás
DIRECTOR OF DIGITAL COMMUNICATION
abernad@bankia.com

Leticia Lucio Álvarez
llucio@bankia.com

María Navarro Caballero
mnavarro@bankia.com

   

End of main content